RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I have a 2004 ZR-7swhich is in great condition, well serviced and after a few months of reliable service I am now fed up pushing it as it cuts out after a couple of miles and will not restart till the next day and then it will do exactly the same, I have checked all the fuel and vacuum pipes and all are good, battery is new so am stuck,I am no mechanic but did have have had the carbs cleaned and a service professionally done a couple of months back so it's not them either, any help would be appreciated
Wheel Tire Fuel tank Plant Automotive fuel system

·
Registered
239 Posts
Not all carb rebuilds net great results but if your bike is running fine otherwise, then they're good.
Could it have a tank of bad gas? My perfect running 7 started to sputter and die on the highway after a long day of riding and just after filling up. It hasn't done it since I ran that gas through.

It sounds electrical in nature. Possibly coils. A bad coil may make itself known once they heat up. Or a bad electrical connection anywhere from the ignition switch to anyplace they run.

·
Registered
239 Posts
It's also possible that you have a vacuum lock on the fuel supply due to poor venting of gas tank. When it dies, is there a whoosh when you open the filler cap?

·
Administrator
2,727 Posts
Or a bad electrical connection anywhere from the ignition switch to anyplace they run.
I had a similar problem years ago with a bike and it turned out to be a faulty ignition switch.

Reactions: Zed7

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·