RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I've never had a fuel injected bike before, so this is my first time winterizing one. I've done many carbureted models over the years.

Is there anything special done for these?
What do you do?

Thanks

Kb

·
Registered
1,116 Posts
Hi all. I've never had a fuel injected bike before, so this is my first time winterizing one. I've done many carbureted models over the years.

Is there anything special done for these?
What do you do?

Thanks

Kb
Not that much really. Even though we have quite the winter here the bike isn't standing still more than 2 months without any riding.
Keep it cool and the battery will not drain much at all.

·
Registered
3,809 Posts
Just fuel stabilizer and battery tender like any other bike. If its going to sit for many months ensure the oil is clean and I'll jack the bike up to prevent flat spots on the tires.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm really just concerned about the injectors. Doing the stabilizer thing should cover it, yes?

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
TOO SOON FOR WINTER TALK......NOOOOO:nono:LOL

·
Registered
724 Posts
winter?

Jon

·
Registered
860 Posts
Just fuel stabilizer and battery tender like any other bike. If its going to sit for many months ensure the oil is clean and I'll jack the bike up to prevent flat spots on the tires.
+1

·
Registered
860 Posts
I'm really just concerned about the injectors. Doing the stabilizer thing should cover it, yes?
Yes. I use seafoam and run the motor for a few minutes after I pour it in.

Requirements are 1 oz to every gallon which would equate to 4.5 oz for the Mean Streak. For the winter, I use a minimum of 6 oz and a max of 8 oz. When riding season begins the following spring, it starts right up.

·
Registered
357 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #10