RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I am thinking about buying some vinyl and installing it on my bike. Has anyone tried it before? I have had some experience with Vinyl and it doesn't work so well around deep curves (such those on the upper fairings). Any suggestions?

·
Registered
95 Posts
The guy's at the sign shops make it easy. However with mistakes comes wisdom. Does the company supplying offer any tool requirements? And how big are the pieces?

·
Registered
414 Posts
Do you up a 50-50 water alcohol, water mix to keep the vinyl moveable on what you are applying it on. Use a hair dryer to help form it around the curves. A soft plastic squeege (sp) will help form it better and remove bubbles.
There are a few good vids on line to help teach.
Practice makes percict.
Take your time and be ready to redo it a second time.
Good luck.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Yep.
But a LOT of work.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The guy's at the sign shops make it easy. However with mistakes comes wisdom. Does the company supplying offer any tool requirements? And how big are the pieces?
I am thinking about using matte black or some sort of "exotic" vinyl finish.
Most of the time they come in 24" x 12" * N, where N is how many feet you want.

Requirements... uncertain, anything I should look out for?

I just want to install it without having to cut it into pieces or have any slits for the curvature.

·
Registered
257 Posts
I use a slip solution of water and Johnsons Baby Shampoo... The water/alcohol I use ONLY to secure the edges when the piece is in place... it flushes out the soap mixture so the edges stick faster.

The water/shampoo mixture is much more forgiving for installs.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #8