RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been noticing some wierd symptoms for the past four months, where within a few minutes after a really hard run my bike will "cough" or "stumble" when rolling the throttle back on from the 3k to 6k RPM range. I tried everything I could think of: flush fuel system, change plugs, clean air filter, check coils & wires, check carbs, etc. The problem has never occurred after any kind of "normal" riding, only after riding like a total idiot for at least 10 or 15 minutes, slowing down, and then getting on it again. To makle a long story less long, I discovered quite by accident that I was getting vapor lock! I went to take off the fuel tank yesterday and the line had so much pressure in it that it hissed for a couple seconds. I replaced the fuel line with one that has a fiberglass braid around it, making it as short as possible so that it has no spots where it runs horizontal, put in racing fuel and voila! No more vapor lock. I tried the best I could to recreate the symptoms today to no avail, but it was a great ride! :cool:

Racing fuel typically has a higher boiling point and lower vapor pressure than pump gas, which makes it less prone to vapor lock. I take back what I said in an earlier post about higher octane fuel having less energy. Holy $#!% does this bike run good on Sunoco GT racing fuel!