RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, first time posting and first time rebuilding a motorcycle. I have experience with cars, but I'm needing some help diagnosing and deciding how to move forward on this new project.

About the bike
It's an 06 Ninja 650r with about 1800 miles on the clock. Sat mostly outside with the last 4 to 5 years left with the fairings off, tank open and unbolted, and air box semi disassembled. Not an ideal start, but the bike was free so 🤷‍♂️.
Worst case, I just spend time and money on a self taught class where I don't know what I'm going to learn 👍

I figured if the intake was left open like that I need to check it out before anything. Took off the rest of the air box and throttle body and saw there's dirt and w/e else just sitting on the tops of the intake valves. I'd assume I'm looking at taking the head and the cylinder off at the least to see if there scoring or damage to the internals?

Then there's the suspension, feul system, etc. that probably need work too. In the interest of not writing a book, we'll just take it one at a time!

Is this work worth the time/money fixing it considering these bikes aren't the most expensive? Any other suggestions for how to proceed that wouldn't be as invasive?

Thanks!
BT

·
Registered
352 Posts
You can try shifting the crank enough to get a bore scope inside to take a look. If your lucky all the valves were closed but I doubt that’s possible. I’d try and shop Vac the debris out and spray oil to lube up the bores prior to trying to start. If your lucky she’ll go...

If not and If you’ve rebuilt engines before then this might be something you can diy. If not a second, known good engine might be easier and cheaper.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You know.. I'm probably going to do exactly that! I appreciate the advice, thanks.