RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so this may come off as a total noob question and I'm really ok with that, but I just noticed a steel belt showing through my tire. The area of the steel belt is about as wide as a paper clip, but you can still see it and that scares me. I have new tires that I just bought but my question is how safe is it to ride to the shop to have them installed?

I have a shop about 12 miles away and a shop about 25 miles away. The closest shop charges about 60% more than the more distant shop. Am I safe to ride it for the 12 miles to shop A and even better, am I safe for a few extra miles to shop B in order to save the $65 difference?

Obviously I'm not going to be smoking the tires or doing any clutch drops on the way, but about 13 miles is a 65mph road if that matters. Also...front tire is fine but I'm replacing it anyways.

Money is not really a concern if it is absurd to ride it with a belt showing, but if it isn't going to grenade on me then I might as well save a bit of cash. Thanks for your help.

-H

·
Registered
660 Posts
if you just bought new tires where are they? are that at one of the shops already? or you planning on caring them to the shop on your bike? LMAO

on the fact that the belt is showing. you should be fine just be careful.

·
Super Moderator
3,329 Posts
No worries...

That is how my rear tire looked after a "Ride On The Ridge" Event one spring. It started to expose the belts while in Hillsville, VA. I rode back to Lynchburg, VA and then ran around for a few days waiting on a new tire.

You'll have NO PROBLEMS just getting 25-ish miles to your shop. I would, however, pay attention (additional attention) to road hazards. Rocks, etc.... no sense pushing your luck..... :alcy:

·
Registered
68 Posts
Yep, like said above you'll be fine as long as you're careful. And don't do it if it's raining. :laugh:

·
Registered
19 Posts