RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know a lot of people won't agree with this usually but I saw that the new Ninja 1000 has that "low power" mode that only uses 70% of it's power. I was originally thinking to start on a 650 ABS but if this bike really has an option to only use 70% of 1000 (700), I was considering going this route instead.

I'm not experienced with motorcycles but I've been on ATVs and whatnot so when I purchase either one of my considerations, I will be in a parking lot and/or my super little neighborhood with little to no traffic for quite awhile before I even try doing anything on the road just to hopefully get a feel for the bike.

I realize that doesn't give me any "real life" experience but I don't plan on doing anything reckless at all on this thing. I value my life and truthfully feel as if I'd be okay on a Ninja 1000 ABS, but I'd like input from other people as well to possibly give me some tips or really anything to set me straight.

·
Registered
367 Posts
Uh, no.

Starting out on what is basically an upright, 500+ lb., 1000cc superbike is most definitely NOT the correct entrance point into motorcycling. Do yourself a favor- go find an MSF course & learn the basics first. Tool around on one of those smaller bikes and learn the ropes a bit before you hurt yourself or someone else. Then after you've passed that course, go shopping on craiglist and find yourself a small or middleweight beater bike that you can learn further on. Do that for 6 ms. to a year and then, if you haven't maimed/killed yourself or anyone else, shop around for the next size up, say a 750 or 800cc bike. Wash rinse, repeat for another year. Then MAYBE you'll be ready for the low power mode on the N1K.

Just my 2 cents.
Lee

·
Registered
215 Posts
Please don't!