RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been riding for about 2 years now. I started on a 2006 Ninja 650R and have ridden about 15,000 miles on it so far. I LOVE my bike, but I’d like something a bit more versatile. I’m thinking about getting a Versys 650 in the near future but I haven’t tested one out. I need some real-world advice/ comparisons.

I know the bikes have the same engines, frames and other parts, but for everyday real-world usage how do they compare? Handling? Comfort? Performance? Maintenance? Etc.

About Me: 5’6” tall, 30” inseam, 160lbs, athletic build. I commute every day to work in the Twin Cities (Minneapolis, St. Paul and suburbs) in all conditions except during winter with snow/ ice (last year I rode from April to December). I try to avoid the freeway when possible and prefer to take county roads, smaller highways and back roads if possible. I ride aggressively in traffic and prefer to pass quickly and get the hell out of the way. Besides commuting, I take short weekend overnight and daytrips trips on the back roads as much as possible.

·
Registered
2,186 Posts
twowheel will be in here shortly i'm sure haha. from what i've heard, the versys is much more versatile for touring/off road adventures. other than that i believe it's basically the same ride.

·
Registered
10,328 Posts
Hey Woolsocks. The Versys is a better all around bike than the Ninja. I went from an '07 Ninja 650 to an '11 Versys 650. At your height and inseam though the Versys may be a tad on the tall side for you. I would recommend you go sit on some and see how they feel.