RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I seem to recall instances accounted here, where the subframe bolts became loose, or where the holes in the subframe for the bolts became enlarged. For those who have experienced this problem, I would like to know what preventative measures are recommended.

I've been using a Givi top case since I got the bike a few months ago, and want to make sure that when I start touring long distances with top case and saddlebags, or with my wife riding pillion, that the subframe mounts won't fail.

·
Registered
1,603 Posts
No idea, they put helicoils (or something like that) in my screwed up holes. not preventative.

My prevention is a touring diet. More miles, less luggage. No more topcase, instead a tailbag, and only woman under 70kg on my rear seat :)
Replacing the givi side cases with smaller lighter SW Motech Aero bags too.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
I would say the best preventative measures would be no top cases and keep the bolts tight. Next time I'm working in that area I plan to retorque / reinstall with some of that gooey red loctite.

·
Registered
271 Posts
You can only torque it so tight because the bolts screw into the aluminium frame. Mine came loose with a lowside that pulled the tail box off it's mount. I got longer steel screws, tightened them to the allowable torque, then added steel nuts, lock washers & washers to the exposed ends (inside the frame). I was then able to torque up the nuts to slightly compress the frame and pan together. I've had this set up for 2 years now with no further problems, even running 2-up & with the tail box.

·
Registered
1,027 Posts