RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all,

I just got my ZR-7s a couple of months ago for commuting in the San Francisco Bay area and so far I love it. I was lucky enough to get it from someone that already had the full Givi luggage set up installed.

After a couple of months of owning the bike and reading these forum posts I have a couple of questions for anyone willing to listen:

1. I know there is the "resistor fix" for the inaccurate fuel gauge, but since I've been riding for about 20 years and haven't needed one so far, has anyone replaced this gauge with anything more useful like an oil temp gauge, or a clock?

2. Under the passenger section of the seat I noticed a built in mount with a couple of rubber clamp downs for some sort of cylindrical shaped thing. Whats this for?

3. Has anyone used the space in the sides of the ZR-7s fairing to mount anything? Cigarette lighter power source, flashlight, storage box for your gloves, etc?

I like to tinker with and farklize my bikes, any suggestions/comments about something you did to your Zr-7(s) that worked for you is always helpful and appreciated. I've already gotten lots of ideas from what I've read here.

Oh, and by the way, since winter is coming, has anyone had problems driving these bikes in the rain?

Like I said, I'm in the San Francisco Bay area, and work M-F 9-5. So if anyone wants to go for a ride, I am more than willing, ready and able to haul *** out of town when given the chance.

Ride Safe

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
467 Posts
I do not have a problem riding this bike in the rain. The friendly power delivery means it's hard to get out of shape unless you really try, also good tyres make a difference. The last time I took it on the track I was going around the outside of some pansies on sports bikes when the rain came. That would have been the only time I would have been able to do it.