RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey people, just purchased a used Suzuki VZ1600, which as you know is basically a meanstreak.
Hoping someone can help me out! Thanks in advance.

Love the bike but now ran into an issue I am hoping is not too alarming:

There is significant oil leak coming from the rear right-side cylinder spark plug, I first noticed as smoke came up while I was at a stop sign, basically indicating some oil was burning on my engine, then I lost some power and RPMs dropped at idle, I still made it home, but confirmed there is oil leaking from there.

I had pulled the spark plugs the day before after purchasing the bike and doing my maintenance overhaul, I am not an expert especially when it comes to the engine but I do all the the work on my bikes myself. There was teflon taped on all of the spark plug threads, so I took that out as I think it's a terrible idea. Now I'm wondering if a previous owner had put that to prevent oil leaking.

However the electrode is not wet with oil but the whole spark plug sleeve socket is, and of course the spark plug threads and all the rest of it. I think there are also small shards of metal on the plug threads which could be bad news.

Could this be due to the spark plug sleeve not sealing properly? Or do you think oil is coming in from the electrode side which I think would indicate a bigger problem?

I will try to remove the spark plug sleeve as soon as possible but I need to fin M18 nut and bolt to have the 27mm outer diameter nut to create a tool to do so... this size is not easy to find.

Automotive lighting Handwriting Organism Slope Font

·
Registered
126 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·