RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
82nd Chairborne
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
please excuse my ignorance . . . my ZR-7 is the first bike i've ever owned and i'm in the dark about a few things namely jet kits and after market cans.

i would like to do some mods to my bike before spring hits and would like to know if i should either jet kit first or slip on can first or wait, save my pennies, and do them both at the same time?

i am planning on putting in a K&N with this week's allowance and am wondering what would be the next logical step.

btw this site rocks . . .

·
Dirty Harry.... Moderator
9,816 Posts
You should get quite a few responses on this one. I'm not a mechanically inclined rider, but I did install a K&N filter at about 500 miles, then I added the Yoshimura round race slip on at about 900 miles (not really sure), but my bike runs very well (like the tail light is on fire), and I'm extremely happy with it. But I've determined from the wisdom of this group of great people here that I really should re-jet and tune the carbs soon, real soon. Good luck, like I said you should get some answers quickly. Tom :cool:

And I see you have already!

·
Wheelie for Safety
1,550 Posts
Hi loudles,

Welcome to the forum.

Don't worry about a slip-on or re-jetting just yet. Once you get familiar with the bike, you might decide that you don't need a can or re-jetting. However, I do suggest adjusting the idle mixture screws. Has that been done yet?

Because your a new rider, you should read the net as much as you can regarding how to ride a motorcycle safely. Here is one good link. http://www.msgroup.org/TIPS.ASP

You might also consider taking a MSF class.

Andy

·
Registered
418 Posts
I'd have to agree with Andy . . Take the MSF Course. It's money well spent. It may even lower your insurance rate (depending on the company).