RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well i tried my hand at drag racing the Z tonight. I found it difficult to get off the line quickly and safely but i am still learning. 12 passes total here is my best run. obviously there is room for improvement. LOL

reaction: .451
60ft: 2.433
MPH: 99.33
ET: 8.3

anyone have any advice on getting the Z off the line quickly?

·
Registered
691 Posts
Find yourself a nice open space and practice your launching. When I run I generally bring the RPM's up to around 5k or so and pop the clutch at the last yellow light. this will usually give you a .1-.2 reaction time. The tricky part is getting comfortable launching... lots of practice! when I first learned I did it on a crappy old bike I didn't mind laying down because the first few times you do it it's quite disconcerting.
Just remember build up to the actual launch (i.e. don't start at the 5k rpm)
Also lean way forward over the tank, this will help to keep the front tire closer to the ground.
Always cover the rear brake, if the nose comes up to far a mild use of the rear brake will bring it back to earth.
Good luck

·
Registered
120 Posts
A Good Launch...

A few key points...

1. Don't be revving the motor..., just bring it to a steady speed, start low, and work up in rpm's... start at like 3000 rpm..., then 3500..., etc etc.

2. Don't just dump the clutch...learn to feather it...use the friction zone to prevent wheelies, and tirespin.

3. Launch on last yellow...as mentioned above.. if you see the green, you are too late, reaction time will be long...you have to anticipate it.

4. Have fun, be safe, and PRACTICE!

:alcy:

·
Registered
57 Posts
A few key points...

1. Don't be revving the motor..., just bring it to a steady speed, start low, and work up in rpm's... start at like 3000 rpm..., then 3500..., etc etc.