RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am new to the motorcycle community and am loving it so far. But I am a little concerned about motor lugging. I was wondering what you guys consider lugging on the motor? How can you tell when your lugging? Also, what engine speed do you normally "cruise" at, and what engine speed do you shift at (on just a normal day, not any "spirited riding")? And one last thing, is it normal to have a pretty audible shift? Not grinding or anything severe, but just a loud "clunk" when you shift? Doesn't always happen, but sometimes.

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
ive personally never heard of the term "lugging" in the motorcycle world or auto world. Are you referring to the engine bogging?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Rdr792, its definitely a learning experience the first time you get on a bike compared to a manual x-mission car. Sport bikes are meant to be revved, aka the power band is much higher than in cars. From my experience the 650R's power band is between about 4.5K and 9K, so if you want to roll on the throttle to pass or something you probably don't want to be any lower than ~4.5K.

I've found that the 650R lugs at 3K and lower when you roll on the throttle. You'll know you're lugging if the engine note not is not nearly as smooth...you'll hear a "chuck chuck chuck" kind of sound as opposed to a nice steady purr. It's not great on the engine but its not gonna destroy it, it just means the engine is working harder than it should have to. However, for highway cruising 3K is perfectly fine if you're not rolling on the throttle hard. If you're in traffic its good to ride a couple of gears lower to leave yourself some room to quickly get out of sticky situations (maybe around 4-5K).