RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there anybody here who can give me some insight into motorcycle mechanic as a career?

I work in IT, but I've been daydreaming about changing careers to become a moto mechanic. I don't have much mechanical experience, but I love bikes, and I loved working with my hands in a previous job (picture framing). I am attracted to the idea of doing practical work where you have something tangible to show for your efforts.

How do you get a job as a motorcycle mechanic? What sort of training is required and where would you get it? Has anyone here made a career change like this, and what was that experience like?

I have seen programs such as the UTI Motorcycle Mechanic Institute advertised on TV - is a program like that a good way to get into the field, or is it a waste of time? What's the best thing about being a mechanic? What's the worst? What do I need to know that I wouldn't even think to ask?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Be prepared for a lot of the following:

people to under value your abilities
people to put crazy demands on your time
people thinking you are better friends than you are and asking you to work for beer
never riding motorcycles again
dropping a TON of cash in tools - every auto, bike and diesel wrench I know has at least 20 large in tools and boxes. Most twice that much.

An acquaintance of mine has been doing this for ~30 years, has a nice collection of old-ish and vintage bikes that he has picked up and restored over the years. probably a dozen or more. Never gets to ride them. He's always wrenching. He's also always rustrated because of his unreasonable customers. Someone called him @ 5:30am yesterday asking if he could get his bike fixed before they needed to go to work. He's a nice guy, but he's bitter.

What do you do in IT? I would say the money is better if you are good at what you do in the IT field.

·