RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just completed my MSF and trying to get a new bike. I'm trying to get a 650r and I'm new to this whole thing, but the dealer is asking for $4,999 for a 2006 with about 10,000 miles on it. The KBB value is $3000, is this the going rate or is the dealer way overpriced and how far down can I expect to get him down to? The bike is here. It is nothing special and shows its age.

Kawasaki 2006 Ninja® 650R

·
Registered
140 Posts
Overpriced. But it will depend on the market in your area mostly. Check craigslist.

In Texas my second bike was a 2006 Ninja 650R that I paid $3100 for. It had 26xx miles and I later resold it for $3500 after bringing the odo to about ~39xx.

Bike was super mint too.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Thats way high!!! I paid $3400 for my 2006 almost 3 years ago... Keep looking around the deals are out there, you just have to find them... I looked for several months before i finally found my bike.

·
Registered
10,328 Posts
KBB retail is the price a dealer should sell the bike for. Way overpriced in my opinion.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Yeah, that's way too high.

I purchased my 2009 Ninja 650. It was brand new but still on the dealer floor in Feb 2011. It had 2 miles on it. I got out the door for $5000. So $5K is crazy for a 2006 with 10K miles. And I assume that doesn't include all the fees and extras the dealer is going to add on?

·
Registered
6,807 Posts
The dealer I've worked with in the last said most don't use KBB anymore. He said (owner of the place) most bike dealerships have switched to NADA. But yea that price is silly.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I bought my 08 with 2990 miles on it last Oct. for $4500 from a dealer. I imagine I could have found a better deal but it was the best I could find in CT and surrounding states at the time.

·
Registered
1,056 Posts