RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all - it is a crappy, misty, not really cold but not warm day in Central NC - reminds me of many days in Germany when I was a Soldier. I remember people commuting in just about any weather there - if you wait for a clear sunny day to ride - well you wont be riding much.

Here is the question - those of you who commute or are bike only for your mode of transportation - what do you do to remain safe, stay at least marginally comfortable and continue every day to work etc.

My thoughts are -

1. man up - it isn't going to be pretty all the time, get used to being less than perfectly comfortable.
2. Spend the money on good gear and if you have the money - have a second set of gear so you have one drying while you get wet with the other
3. Use a Dry sack for the clothes you need at work (I'm an office geek with computer hands).
4. Clean and prep your visor regularly with anti fog goo - or get a pinlock - whatever you need/works for you.
5. Clean and lube the important parts of your bike like the manufacturer says to do... and the usual chex - tire/tyre pressure, wear etc.. (Tcloc.....)

My main question to you is - what do you add to be able to see in the dark with a fogged/rain covered visor?

Wiping only goes so far even with the thumb squeegee gloves....
What can you add to this and what do you do - please let us know

Thanks in advance - Cag

·
Registered
1997 Yamaha Seca II
7 Posts
Well, I ride year around and this is in SE Missouri so we do see our share of cold/nasty weather. When it gets cold, I install the insulated liners in my one-piece suit or the jacket/pants combo. I wear that over my normal work clothes, I'm also in I.T.