RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll start off by saying that I've done a ton of work on cars, but very little on motorcycles. With all the bikes I've owned I've never had to do much more than change the oil, lube the chain and maybe clean a carb. So for a bike I'm a maintenance noob.

Anyway, I have a new to me 2004 Z1000 with ~15k miles. When I first take off if I engage the clutch quickly it almost sounds like rocks rolling around, but goes away after a few seconds and doesn't happen on any subsequent upshifts, just engaging 1st. The clutch doesn't slip (though I haven't gotten it over 10k rpm yet, the Z has way more power than my last bike), but I'm wondering if something is wrong with it. I haven't pulled the cover off to check, mostly because I'm not exactly sure what to look for (besides something broken). I'm also wondering if I need a clutch where do I get a replacement kit? I looked on a couple of parts stores online and it seems like they just have a ton of individual parts.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
i am not a clutch master, but is sounds like the basket has notches in it from hard use. drain the oil, pull the cover. the basket that the clutch and shims are in should be smooth. if there are little notches then time to get a new one.

i could easily be wrong though.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Ok, just took everything apart and I see nothing amiss. Also, clutch looks recently replaced and is in very good condition, no notches in the basket.