RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I have a couple quick questions for you. I'm going to go to Australia for three months starting in March. I plan to work to support myself while I'm there. Do you guys know if it is important for me to have a work permit or is it easy to obtain temporary work illegally. I just dont want to pay the extra administrative fees of getting a work permit.

My other question is which city should I live in? Melbourne or Sydney? Are there any drawbacks, differences that I should be aware of? Keep in mind that I am a 21 year old student.

Thanks for any help. Happy riding,

Ross

·
Registered
25 Posts
The country is full of illegal immigrants working illegally (if the media is to be believed) If they can - you can. Sydney is the place to be if you can afford it - Melbourne's weather sucks. Try and see the Australian Outback. To watch the sun set on the red soil plains and be hundreds of miles from the nearest town is the real Australia - A city is just a city

·
Silver Member
881 Posts
What do you intend to do, base yourself in one city and head off on weekends etc or travel around all the time?

The good old aussie peso is about half a greenback. Doing "cash in hand" barwork etc will get you AU$10 an hour plus tips ( we don't tip here tho.) Working in an office say 20hrs a week will pay about $20 an hour doing evenings. I work with General Electric and we are always looking for "temps" (temporary staff) to do callcentre work at nights 4-8pm/5-9pm. A lot of backpackers do this since they finish work then head out on the town, then wake up about noon the next day.

Sydney is spectacular but more expensive. The city centre sort of dies at night but it's lively in the suburbs. Melbourne is the opposite the centre is where it all happens and the suburbs are dead.