RiderForums.com - Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys
I have a Bandit 1200s 1999 model. I have had so frigging much trouble with it that I am almost giving up and scrapping it ! The thing is... It firstly spend way to much gas, it soot a lot from the exhaust and when I come home after 30 min drive, it kills the engine when I for example apply the clutch when I let it slide the last few meters in my driveway as well it dies at traffic light stops... I have actually taken the bike to three different shops and ALWAYS paid a good sum of money BUT gotten the bike with the same trouble as usual. Finally I went to the third place and they (vaguely) told me that the seats for the jet needles were somewhat worn so thats why (perhaps) gas was floating too much pass the needles ... sic ! Well, I am not a mechanic at all and that might show trough when I talk to those guys... they look at me as a money source I guess :(
But anyhow... I found used carbs online for small amount of money and thought of changing the carbs... but Nooooo ! My luck was that the american bought carbs did not have throttle sensors ...ummmm "holes" ? So I guess the carbs won´t fit my bike. Now, to my actual question... or questions... 1. Is there a place where I can have my carbs remodeled... can I use carbs from other bandits (newer models), can I put the other carbs (the one without the throttle sensor thingy ) on my bike ?
Greetings
Jacnor

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
It does sound like your bike is running too rich. The least expensive option would be to buy a factory manual, and adjust the the carborators with the stock jets.

If the carbs cannot be adjusted due to wear, then order the jets (www.bikebandit.com or your dealer) and replace them.